Thursday, February 18, 2010


Basidiomycetes are divided into two sub-classes;

  1. Heterobasidiomycetidae: the basidium is either septate or deeply divided and the basidiospores are capable of germinating by repetition. These include the rusts, the smuts and the jelly fungi. Example: i) Tremellales ii) Tremellaceae iii) Auriculariaceae
  2. Homobasidiomycetidae: the basidium in neither septate nor deeply divides and the basidio-spores usually germinate by a germ tube. The Fungi included in this sub-class are very common and are generally known as mushrooms, toadstools, puffballs, stinkhorn, bird's-nest fungi and bracket fungi bracket fungi
M.H. Zoberi, 1972. Tropical Macrofungi. Page 12.

No comments:

Post a Comment